Decision-making

Man´s heart

Do you struggle with decision-making? I do, at times, I can’t even decide what I’ll have for lunch.

I always wonder why I am so indecisive? Why do I struggle so much to make a decision? I desire to change, and although I know change doesn’t happen overnight, I trust that God will help me see clearer and will teach me to become less indecisive. What I have been learning is that true transformation happens when you allow God to teach you how to change. This is what he is teaching me:

First, I need to make my own decisions. Sure, it can be helpful to search advice from others, but at the end of the day, you are the one who needs to determine what is best for you, not them. By surrendering to God and acknowledging that his plans are greater than mine, I trust that he will show me the best path to take, I trust that I am capable of making my own decisions based on what God is showing or telling me.

For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

So trust that He will lead you towards what is right.

Second, I need to stop worrying about failure.  The fear of failure can hold us back from achieving God’s purpose. We need to let go of this fear and trust that he will be with us every step of the way, he will be there when we fall and will lift us up again.

For though the righteous fall seven times, they rise again. Proverbs 24:16

Don’t be afraid of failure. If in fact you fail, take the opportunity to learn from it and remember that just because you fail at this moment it does not mean you will fail in the future. You still have the opportunity to try again and start over.

Third, take responsibility for your decisions, be prepared for the consequences of it, whatever they might be.

But let each one test his own word, and then his reason to boast will be in himself alone and not in his neighbor. For each will have to bear his own load. Galatians 6:4-5

Fourth, get rid of distractions. What is distracting you from achieving your goals?  We need to pay attention to what is most significant to us and cross out superficial stuff that will only distract us from achieving our goals.

Many are the plans in a person’s heart,but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21

By listening to God and by getting rid of distractions we are able to narrow down our choices, making it easier to follow a plan.

At the end, we can rest assure that God’s purpose will prevail, isn’t that an extraordinary promise?

Leave a Reply

